Coverart for item
The Resource A funny thing happened on the way to school ..., Davide Cali, Benjamin Chaud

A funny thing happened on the way to school ..., Davide Cali, Benjamin Chaud

Label
A funny thing happened on the way to school ...
Title
A funny thing happened on the way to school ...
Statement of responsibility
Davide Cali, Benjamin Chaud
Creator
Contributor
Author
Illustrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A humorous story about imaginative excuses for being late to school
Member of
Tone
Illustration
Review
  • Preschool-Grade 2 The young boy from I Didn’t Do My Homework Because . . . (2014) is back with an outlandish saga of why he is late for school. First he observed giant ants stealing his breakfast. Arriving at the bus stop, 10 “evil ninjas” blocked his way. His attempts to get to school on time were further hampered by majorettes and gorillas and elephants. Undaunted, the boy and his faithful dachshund extricated themselves from “almost” unbelievable situations. By using his brains, talents, and a handy tool, he eventually arrived at school only to discover he forgot his backpack and returned home for it. Finally in his classroom, he is questioned by his teacher, who is skeptical of her student’s hair-raising adventure. The clues found in the final spread will have children giggling and wondering what actually happened. Readers are introduced to descriptive vocabulary words such as vanquishing, massive, seized, and colossal, adding to the high-energy tale. The small book’s busy, detailed pen-and-ink illustrations, predominantly in shades of green and orange, are fun to examine. Imaginative high jinks, highly entertaining. -- Owen, Maryann (Reviewed 03-01-2015) (Booklist, vol 111, number 13, p64)
  • K-Gr 2 — The young hero of I Did Not Do My Homework Because … (Chronicle, 2014) is back, this time with inventive reasons why he was late for school. The fantastical tale has it all—giant ants that steal his breakfast, a ninja attack, an encounter with Yeti and Bigfoot, invading aliens, and many other unlikely escapades. A clever twist at the end involving a time machine and dinosaurs imparts unexpected credibility to the boy's story. The plot might be somewhat tenuous and the series of events seemingly random, but nonetheless are true to how a child's runaway imagination might work. Chaud's signature cartoon illustrations delight with eccentric and humorous details on every page, the expressions of the protagonist's canine companion especially silly and fun to follow. VERDICT Best suited for a personal perusal or one-on-one sharing due to its small format, this book will appeal to fans of Cali and Chaud's previous work as well as those who appreciate a whimsical romp.—Yelena Alekseyeva-Popova, formerly at Chappaqua Library, NY --Yelena Alekseyeva-Popova (Reviewed March 1, 2015) (School Library Journal, vol 61, issue 3, p113)
  • The scruffy-suited, shaggy-haired boy from I Didn’t Do My Homework Because... is back, and he has more excuses ready for his teacher, this time regarding why he’s late for school. His circuitous, belief-defying story involves being attacked by ninjas (their wild gestures make them resemble Matisse dancers), being abducted by mole people, wandering in and out of a few fairy tales, and tooling around in the president’s private jet. His remarkably patient teacher takes this all in stride, but Cali and Chaud give the boy (and readers) the last laugh, proving the adage that truth can be stranger than fiction. Ages 6–9. (Mar.) --Staff (Reviewed January 12, 2015) (Publishers Weekly, vol 262, issue 02, p)
  • In the grand tradition of John Burningham's John Patrick Norman McHennessy, the Boy Who Was Always Late (1987), a tardy lad spins exciting if unlikely excuses to a skeptical teacher.Considering that giant ants ate his breakfast, and then, among other distractions, he was assaulted or kidnapped on the way by ninjas, mole people, elephants and "a sea of scary majorettes," had to help sort out a milling mass of sheep and ducks, almost forgot his backpack and accidently rode his uncle's time machine back to the age of dinosaurs, it's not so surprising that he's a bit late. In manic cartoon illustrations, Chaud propels the disheveled but determined student through a series of hilariously surreal situations—fetching him up at last in school, looking shocked that his teacher (who hasn't caught sight of the dinosaur leaning in at the window) doesn't believe him. Wouldn't you? She may have cause, though, as he had already spun a similar skein of yarns in the preceding I Didn't Do My Homework Because… (2014). A well-traveled premise, but like all of its ilk, a fertile source of inspiration for similarly dilatory students. (Picture book. 6-9)(Kirkus Reviews, January 15, 2015)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10410486
Cataloging source
NJQ/DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1972-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Calái, Davide
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 0
  • 2
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Chaud, Benjamin
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Henry books (Davide Cali)
Series volume
0002
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Imagination
  • Excuses
  • Tardiness
Target audience
primary
Label
A funny thing happened on the way to school ..., Davide Cali, Benjamin Chaud
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
1 unpaged volume
Isbn
9781452131689
Lccn
2014010086
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
color illustrations
Stock number
BRO-copy20150319-078
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn876466531
  • (OCoLC)876466531
  • 341122
Label
A funny thing happened on the way to school ..., Davide Cali, Benjamin Chaud
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
1 unpaged volume
Isbn
9781452131689
Lccn
2014010086
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
color illustrations
Stock number
BRO-copy20150319-078
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn876466531
  • (OCoLC)876466531
  • 341122

Library Locations

    • Columbus Public LibraryBorrow it
      3000 Macon Road, Columbus, GA, 31906, US
      32.4769285 -84.9441
    • North Columbus Public LibraryBorrow it
      5689 Armour Road, Columbus, GA, 31909, US
      32.528633 -84.953102
Processing Feedback ...