Coverart for item
The Resource A life beyond reason : a father's memoir, Chris Gabbard

A life beyond reason : a father's memoir, Chris Gabbard

Label
A life beyond reason : a father's memoir
Title
A life beyond reason
Title remainder
a father's memoir
Statement of responsibility
Chris Gabbard
Title variation
life beyond reason
Title variation remainder
a fathers memoir
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of When Bad Things Happen to Good People and When Breath Becomes Air, the story of how one father's Kafka-esque foray into the bowels of American medicine forced him to reexamine his own values and the purpose of human life. Before becoming a father, Chris Gabbard was a fast-track academic finishing his doctoral dissertation at Stanford. A disciple of reason and all things steeped in the ideas of Enlightenment thinkers, Gabbard was influenced by his favorite philosophers--Socrates, Aristotle, John Locke, Peter Singer. That is, until he had August. Despite his faith in modern medicine, the very science Gabbard touted as infallible fails him. August was born nonverbal, unable to walk or feed himself due to an injury that was the likely result of medical error. In the midst of adjusting to a life of intense caregiving, doctor's visits, negotiations with Medicaid, and the pressure of mounting debt, he becomes obsessed with uncovering what doctors should have done differently to save his son from what he can only fathom as a life of suffering. But, as Gabbard cares for August during his short fourteen years of life, he experiences a profound evolution as the monumental truths of his idols give way and he comes to understand that his son is undeniably a person deserving of life. Unflinching and luminous, A Life Beyond Reason is an account of medical error, family, and excruciating personal and philosophical transformations for anyone who has questioned the very foundations of their beliefs"--
Summary
Explores a father’s philosophical transformation when he must reconsider the questions “what makes us human?” and “whose life is worth living?” when his son August is born with severe brain damage as a likely result of a medical error
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
individual biography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10782041
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1953-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Gabbard, Chris
Dewey number
  • 618.32680092
  • 920
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Gabbard, Chris
  • Fetal brain
  • Children with disabilities
  • Hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy
  • Father and child
  • Parents of children with disabilities
  • Medical errors
  • Children with disabilities
  • Father and child
  • Fetal brain
  • Health
  • Hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy
  • Medical errors
  • Parents of children with disabilities
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a father's memoir
Label
A life beyond reason : a father's memoir, Chris Gabbard
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
xi, 226 pages
Isbn
9780807060575
Lccn
2018043304
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1051050440
  • (OCoLC)on1051050440
  • 633558
  • 660734
  • 660734
Label
A life beyond reason : a father's memoir, Chris Gabbard
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
xi, 226 pages
Isbn
9780807060575
Lccn
2018043304
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1051050440
  • (OCoLC)on1051050440
  • 633558
  • 660734
  • 660734

Library Locations

    • North Columbus Public Library Borrow it
      5689 Armour Road, Columbus, GA, 31909, US
      32.528633 -84.953102
Processing Feedback ...