The Resource Firekeeper's daughter (eAudiobook), Angeline Boulley

Firekeeper's daughter (eAudiobook), Angeline Boulley

Label
Firekeeper's daughter (eAudiobook)
Title
Firekeeper's daughter (eAudiobook)
Statement of responsibility
Angeline Boulley
Title variation
Fire keeper's daughter
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Isabella Star LaBlanc brings an authentic-sounding narration to this powerful audiobook...Dialogue, including words in other languages, is handled with effortless transitions and clear depictions between characters. This audiobook should not be missed." -- AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award winner A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground. "One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels." -Good Morning America For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community. Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi's hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug. Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims. Now, as the deceptions-and deaths-keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she'll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she's ever known. A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March Selection An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company "The text is filled with Ojibwe phrases and traditions that Native American reader LaBlanc (Sisseton-Wahpeton Dakota) handles with ease. Her voice is young and earnest and her fluency adds to the portrayal of Daunis...It's a tale filled with suspense, and LaBlanc's sensitive reading will keep listeners plugged in." -- Booklist, starred review "Expert narration from Isabella Star LeBlanc, a Sisseton Wahpeton Dakota, brings authenticity to Daunis's joy, anger, fear, and grief while providing distinct voices for the supporting cast, including the tribal elders. LeBlanc's captivating voice draws readers in, expressing every mundane, sweet, heartbreaking, and life-threatening moment." -- School Library Journal, starred review
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
Midwest
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Boulley, Angeline
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
PerformerNote
Read by Isabella Star Lablanc
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • LaBlanc, Isabella Star
  • hoopla digital
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Detective and mystery stories
  • Drugs
  • Undercover operations
  • Families
  • Racially mixed people
  • Ojibwa Indians
  • Indians of North America
  • Ojibwa Indians
  • Racially mixed people
  • Family life
  • Undercover operations
  • Drugs
  • Crime
  • Michigan
  • Michigan
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Firekeeper's daughter (eAudiobook), Angeline Boulley
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Distribution
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 audio file (14hr., 14 min.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
  • online
  • electronic
Governing access note
Digital content provided by hoopla
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781250779519
Isbn Type
(sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
Publisher number
MWT14909440
Quality assurance targets
unknown
Reformatting quality
access
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
14909440
System control number
(MWT)MWT14909440
System details
Mode of access: World Wide Web
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Firekeeper's daughter (eAudiobook), Angeline Boulley
Link
Publication
Distribution
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 audio file (14hr., 14 min.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
  • online
  • electronic
Governing access note
Digital content provided by hoopla
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781250779519
Isbn Type
(sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
Publisher number
MWT14909440
Quality assurance targets
unknown
Reformatting quality
access
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
14909440
System control number
(MWT)MWT14909440
System details
Mode of access: World Wide Web
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Columbus Public LibraryBorrow it
    3000 Macon Road, Columbus, GA, 31906, US
    32.4769285 -84.9441
  • Cusseta - Chattahoochee Public LibraryBorrow it
    262 Broad Street, Cusseta, GA, 31805, US
    32.308074 -84.786131
  • Marion County Public LibraryBorrow it
    123 East 5th Avenue, Buena Vista, GA, 31803, US
    32.318154 -84.515872
  • Mildred L. Terry Public LibraryBorrow it
    640 Veterans Parkway, Columbus, GA, 31901, US
    32.461199 -84.985524
  • North Columbus Public LibraryBorrow it
    5689 Armour Road, Columbus, GA, 31909, US
    32.528633 -84.953102
  • Parks Memorial Public LibraryBorrow it
    890 Wall Street, Richland, GA, 31825, US
    32.085155 -84.667173
  • South Columbus Public LibraryBorrow it
    2034 S. Lumpkin Road, Columbus, GA, 31903, US
    32.415104 -84.951737