Coverart for item
The Resource (Re)Born in the USA : an Englishman's love letter to his chosen home (eBook)/, Roger Bennett

(Re)Born in the USA : an Englishman's love letter to his chosen home (eBook)/, Roger Bennett

Label
(Re)Born in the USA : an Englishman's love letter to his chosen home (eBook)/
Title
(Re)Born in the USA
Title remainder
an Englishman's love letter to his chosen home (eBook)/
Statement of responsibility
Roger Bennett
Title variation
Reborn in the United States of America
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
One-half of the celebrated Men in Blazers duo, longtime culture and soccer commentator Roger Bennett traces the origins of his love affair with America, and how he went from a depraved, pimply faced Jewish boy in 1980's Liverpool to become the quintessential Englishman in New York. A memoir for fans of Jon Ronson and Chuck Klosterman, but with Roger Bennett's signature pop culture flair and humor. Being a teenager isn't easy, no matter where in the world you live or how much it does or doesn't rain in your hometown. As an outsider--a private-schooled Jewish kid in working-class, heavily Catholic Liverpool--Roger Bennett wasn't winning any popu­larity contests. But there was one idea, or ideal, that burned bright in Roger's heart. That was America-- with its sunny skies, beautiful women, and cool kids with flipped collars who ate at McDonald's. When he embraced American popular culture, the dull gray world he lived in turned to neon teal--a color which had not even been invented in England yet. Intro­duced first through the gateway drug of The Love Boat, then to Rolling Stone, the NFL, John Hughes movies, Run-DMC, and Tracy Chapman, Roger embraced everything that would capture the imagination of a teenager growing up Stateside. When he made a real, in-the-flesh American friend who invited him over for the summer, he got to visit the promised land. A month in Chicago, and a life-changing night spent in the company of the Chicago Bears, was the first hit of freedom, of independence, of the Roger Bennett he knew he could be. (Re)Born in the USA captures the universality of growing pains, growing up, and growing out of where you come from. Drenched in the culture of the late '80s and '90s from the UK and the USA, and the heartfelt, hilarious sense of humor that has made Roger Bennett so beloved by his listeners, here is both a truly unique coming-of-age story and the love letter to America that the country needs right now
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
TOH
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1970-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bennett, Roger
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
OverDrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Bennett, Roger
  • British
  • Immigrants
  • Sportscasters
  • Popular culture
  • Jews
  • British
  • Immigrants
  • Jews
  • Popular culture
  • Sportscasters
  • Liverpool (England)
  • England
  • United States
Label
(Re)Born in the USA : an Englishman's love letter to his chosen home (eBook)/, Roger Bennett
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062958723
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
AAB0F23F-0059-4019-8280-4D526384B7DE
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1258246487
  • on1258246487
  • 897980
Label
(Re)Born in the USA : an Englishman's love letter to his chosen home (eBook)/, Roger Bennett
Link
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062958723
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
AAB0F23F-0059-4019-8280-4D526384B7DE
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1258246487
  • on1258246487
  • 897980

Library Locations

    • Columbus Public LibraryBorrow it
      3000 Macon Road, Columbus, GA, 31906, US
      32.4769285 -84.9441