The Resource The Darwin affair (Downloadable Audiobook), Tim Mason

The Darwin affair (Downloadable Audiobook), Tim Mason

Label
The Darwin affair (Downloadable Audiobook)
Title
The Darwin affair (Downloadable Audiobook)
Statement of responsibility
Tim Mason
Creator
Contributor
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
London, June 1860: When an assassination attempt is made on Queen Victoria, and a petty thief is gruesomely murdered moments later-and only a block away-Chief Detective Inspector Charles Field quickly surmises that these crimes are connected to an even more sinister plot. Was Victoria really the assassin's target' Are those closest to the Crown hiding something' And who is this shadowy figure witnesses describe as having lifeless, coal-black eyes' Soon, Field's investigation exposes a shocking conspiracy in which the publication of Charles Darwin's On the Origin of Species sets off a string of murders, arson, kidnapping, and the pursuit of a diabolical madman named the Chorister. As the investigation takes Field from the dangerous alleyways of London to the hallowed halls of Oxford, the list of possible conspirators grows as the body count escalates. And as he edges closer to the Chorister, he uncovers dark secrets that were meant to remain forever hidden. With ingenuity, intelligence, and wit, debut novelist Tim Mason has created a powerfully entertaining thriller. For fans of Caleb Carr and Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Darwin Affair is a rousing tale that both Charles Dickens and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would relish and envy
Summary
Unsettling connections between an assassination attempt on Queen Victoria and the gruesome murder of a petty thief lead Chief Detective Inspector Charles Field to a shocking conspiracy related to the publication of Darwin's On the Origin of Species
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Audio
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Additional physical form
Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10806022
Cataloging source
MdPfRBL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1950-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Mason, Tim
Dewey number
812.54
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Literary text for sound recordings
other
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Narrated by Derek Perkins
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Perkins, Derek
  • HighBridge Audio (Firm)
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Darwin, Charles
  • Attempted assassination
  • Psychopaths
  • Conspiracies
  • Detectives
  • Investigations
  • Intrigue
  • Murder
  • Secrets
  • Fame
  • City life
  • London, England
  • Great Britain
  • Germany
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
The Darwin affair (Downloadable Audiobook), Tim Mason
Link
https://chattahoocheega.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781684571734
Instantiates
Publication
Distribution
Copyright
Note
  • Downloadable audio file
  • Title from title screen
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (11 hr., 29 min.)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Governing access note
Access restricted to subscribing institutions
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781684571734
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Publisher number
Z100150176
Quality assurance targets
unknown
Reformatting quality
access
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (MdPfRBL)rbdZ100150176
  • (OCoLC)1104344977
  • 664052
  • 664052
System details
  • Mode of access: World Wide Web
  • Requires RBdigital Media Manager
  • System requirements: 200 MB of free disk space, 512 MB of RAM, Windows Installer 3.1, Microsoft .NET Framework 4 (x86 and x64), Windows Media Player 10 QA
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
The Darwin affair (Downloadable Audiobook), Tim Mason
Link
https://chattahoocheega.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781684571734
Publication
Distribution
Copyright
Note
  • Downloadable audio file
  • Title from title screen
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (11 hr., 29 min.)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Governing access note
Access restricted to subscribing institutions
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781684571734
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Publisher number
Z100150176
Quality assurance targets
unknown
Reformatting quality
access
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (MdPfRBL)rbdZ100150176
  • (OCoLC)1104344977
  • 664052
  • 664052
System details
  • Mode of access: World Wide Web
  • Requires RBdigital Media Manager
  • System requirements: 200 MB of free disk space, 512 MB of RAM, Windows Installer 3.1, Microsoft .NET Framework 4 (x86 and x64), Windows Media Player 10 QA
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Columbus Public LibraryBorrow it
    3000 Macon Road, Columbus, GA, 31906, US
    32.4769285 -84.9441
  • Cusseta - Chattahoochee Public LibraryBorrow it
    262 Broad Street, Cusseta, GA, 31805, US
    32.308074 -84.786131
  • Marion County Public LibraryBorrow it
    123 East 5th Avenue, Buena Vista, GA, 31803, US
    32.318154 -84.515872
  • Mildred L. Terry Public LibraryBorrow it
    640 Veterans Parkway, Columbus, GA, 31901, US
    32.461199 -84.985524
  • North Columbus Public LibraryBorrow it
    5689 Armour Road, Columbus, GA, 31909, US
    32.528633 -84.953102
  • Parks Memorial Public LibraryBorrow it
    890 Wall Street, Richland, GA, 31825, US
    32.085155 -84.667173
  • South Columbus Public LibraryBorrow it
    2034 S. Lumpkin Road, Columbus, GA, 31903, US
    32.415104 -84.951737
Processing Feedback ...